‘Wednesday,’ ‘Stranger Things,’ and More Spooky Favorites Among Nominees for 2023 Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards

Milly Bobby Brown as Eleven, Jenna Ortega as Wednesday, Sarah Jessica Parker as Sarah Sanderson, and Mavis from the Hotel Transylvania franchise

On Tuesday, Nickelodeon announced its nominees for the Kids’ Choice Awards 2023, which will air live on Saturday, March 4, at 7 PM ET/PT. Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards will celebrate fans’ favorites across the worlds of film, television, music, sports, and more. Among this year’s nominees are some horror fan-favorite shows and actors.

The third installment of Nickelodeon’s “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” reboot, “Are You Afraid of the Dark?: Ghost Island,” is among the nominees for “Favorite Kids TV Show.” The latest in the series premiered last July and followed a group of teenagers who travel to a resort hotel for vacation only to get sucked into a mystery involving the hotel’s past.

Netflix’s “Stranger Things” and “Wednesday” have both been nominated for “Favorite Family TV Show.” And the leading ladies of both shows received nominations for “Favorite Female TV Star (Family),” with Millie Bobby Brown picking up a nomination for her role as Eleven in “Stranger Things” and Jenna Ortega picking up a nomination for her role as the title character Wednesday Addams in “Wednesday.” Sadie Sink, who plays Max Mayfield in “Stranger Things,” has also picked up a nomination in this category.

“Stranger Things” picked up three nominations in the “Favorite Male TV Star (Family)” category, with Caleb McLaughlin, Finn Wolfhard, and Gaten Matarazzo all making their way onto this year’s ballot for their roles as Lucas, Mike, and Dustin on “Stranger Things.”

The spooky nominations weren’t limited to television. Some of last year’s Halloween movie favorites also made it onto this year’s nomination list. “Hocus Pocus 2” received a nomination for “Favorite Movie,” with actress Sarah Jessica Parker receiving a nomination for “Favorite Movie Actress” for her role as Sarah Sanderson in the film.

The final film in the “Hotel Transylvania” franchise, “Hotel Transylvania: Transformania,” received three nominations. First for “Favorite Animated Movie” and then two nominations for the film’s voice cast. Andy Samberg picked up a nomination for “Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie (Male)” for his role as Dracs quirky son-in-law Jonathan, and Selena Gomez picked up a matching “Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie (Female)” for her role as Drac’s daughter Mavis. Samberg was nominated twice in the category, as he was also nominated for his voice work in the Disney+ film “Chip N’ Dale: Rescue Rangers.”

Check out the list of nominees from the categories mentioned above below:


Favorite Kids TV Show

  • Are You Afraid of the Dark?: Ghost Island
  • High School Musical: The Musical: The Series
  • Ms. Marvel
  • Raven’s Home
  • That Girl Lay Lay
  • The Fairly OddParents: Fairly Odder
  • The Mighty Ducks: Game Changers
  • The Really Loud House

Favorite Family TV Show

  • Cobra Kai
  • iCarly
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • She-Hulk: Attorney at Law
  • Stranger Things
  • Wednesday
  • Young Rock
  • Young Sheldon

Favorite Female TV Star (Family)

  • Hilary Duff (Sophie, “How I Met Your Father”)
  • Jenna Ortega (Wednesday Addams, “Wednesday”)
  • Millie Bobby Brown (Eleven, “Stranger Things”)
  • Miranda Cosgrove (Carly Shay, “iCarly”)
  • Sadie Sink (Max Mayfield, “Stranger Things”)
  • Tracee Ellis Ross (Bow Johnson, “Black-ish”)

Favorite Male TV Star (Family)

  • Caleb McLaughlin (Lucas Sinclair, “Stranger Things”)
  • Ewan McGregor (Obi-Wan Kenobi, Obi-Wan-Kenobi)
  • Finn Wolfhard (Mike Wheeler, “Stranger Things”)
  • Gaten Matarazzo (Dustin Henderson, “Stranger Things”)
  • Jerry Trainor (Spencer Shay, iCarly)
  • Ralph Macchio (Daniel LaRusso, Cobra Kai)


Favorite Movie

  • Avatar: The Way of Water
  • Black Adam
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  • Hocus Pocus 2
  • Jurassic World Dominion
  • Monster High The Movie
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Top Gun: Maverick

Favorite Movie Actress

  • Elizabeth Olsen (Wanda Maximoff/The Scarlet Witch, “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness”)
  • Letitia Wright (Shuri, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
  • Lupita Nyong’o (Nakia, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
  • Millie Bobby Brown (Enola Holmes, “Enola Holmes 2”)
  • Natalie Portman (Jane Foster/The Mighty Thor, “Thor: Love and Thunder”)
  • Sarah Jessica Parker (Sarah Sanderson, “Hocus Pocus 2”)

Favorite Animated Movie

  • DC League of Super-Pets
  • Hotel Transylvania: Transformania
  • Lightyear
  • Minions: The Rise of Gru
  • The Bad Guys
  • Turning Red

Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie (Male)

  • Andy Samberg (Dale, “Chip N’ Dale: Rescue Rangers”)
  • Andy Samberg (Jonathan, “Hotel Transylvania: Transformania”)
  • Chris Evans (Buzz Lightyear, “Lightyear”)
  • Dwayne Johnson (Krypto, “DC League of Super-Pets”)
  • Kevin Hart (Ace, “DC League of Super-Pets”)
  • Steve Carell (Gru, “Minions: The Rise of Gru”)

Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie (Female)

  • Awkwafina (Tarantula, “The Bad Guys”)
  • Keke Palmer (Izzy Hawthorne, “Lightyear”)
  • Salma Hayek (Kitty Softpaws, “Puss in Boots: The Last Wish”)
  • Sandra Oh (Ming, “Turning Red”)
  • Selena Gomez (Mavis, “Hotel Transylvania: Transformania”)
  • Taraji P. Henson (Belle Bottom, “Minions: The Rise of Gru”)

Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2023 will be hosted by CBS Mornings and CBS Sports Analyst Nate Burleson and digital superstar Charli D’Amelio. This year’s event promises extreme logic-defying stunts; wild celebrity collaborations and games; magical illusions and tricks; interactive moments within the Nickverse; and epic slimings. Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2023 will be simulcast across Nickelodeon, TeenNick, Nicktoons, the Nick Jr. channel, TVLand, CMT, and MTV2.

Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2023 is produced by Nickelodeon Productions and overseen by Ashley Kaplan, Executive Vice President, Nickelodeon & Awesomeness Unscripted & Digital Franchise Studio; Paul J Medford, Vice President, Unscripted Current Series; Luke Wahl, Vice President, Unscripted Creative; and Jennifer Bryson, Vice President, Production, Tentpoles, Events & Music & Specials. Jesse Ignjatovic, Evan Prager, and Barb Bialkowski serve as executive producers, with Harriet Cuddeford and Andria Parides serving as co-executive producers.

Send this to a friend